FuturArc Prize and FuturArc Green Leadership Award 2014

FuturArc Prize
Launched in 2007, FuturArc Prize aims to generate forward-thinking, innovative Green building design ideas for Asia. The Competition offers a platform to professionals and students who are passionate about the environment. Through the force of their imagination, it aspires to capture visions of a sustainable future. This is open to architects and architecture students in Asia and the world.

The brief for FuturArc Prize 2014 (www.futurarc.com/prize2014) calls for a new vision of water in the city. At the building scale this may take the form of new typologies for sourcing, storage and recycling; or it may call a rethink of existing typologies such as homes and offices. At the urban scale, it might manifest itself through new networks or infrastructure that deal with flows and loops. The goal is in part sufficiency (therefore survival); it is also the well-being of settlements and the ecological systems that we depend on. (For more details please download the competition brief below.)

FuturArc Green Leadership Award

The FuturArc Green Leadership Award was launched in 2009 to seek out innovative and ecologically responsible buildings in Asia. The competition recognises the team behind a completed project: the developer, consultants and contractors, who have collectively pushed the limits and definition of what a Green building is in Asia. This is open to building professionals like architects, consultants and developers to nominate their Green built project/s.

Entries are invited in six categories for FuturArc Green Leadership Award 2014 (www.futurarc.com/greenleadershipaward2014):

1.    Residential – Individual Houses

2.    Residential – Multiple Houses

3.    Commercial

4.    Institutional

5.    Interior 

6.    Socially-Inclusive Development*

Where a development is mixed use (for instance, commercial and residential), the category should reflect whichever of the uses is the dominant component, measured as percentage of gross floor area.

*This is a new category of competition this year that recognises developments with a strong social agenda – for instance, questions of social equity, community resources, informal settlements, creation of livelihood, etc. – and stakeholder engagement. The programme of the said development can be any of the preceding 5 categories (items 1 to 5 above) or a combination of the same. 

(For more details please download the competition brief below.)


  • Competition Information